Built in 1885, the building served as the only jail for the city until 1978. While it was in use, deputies stayed in the living quarters on the main floor. The second floor is divided into three rooms: the gallows, the single cell (used for women and the insane), and the main cell. The main cell has within it a freestanding iron “cage” designed as 2 cells with up to 4 beds per cell. The museum also showcases artifacts and memorabilia depicting the history of Hood County.